2 Comments

My newest assignment

I’ve taken some major steps back from this blog to savor my new relationship. (And have a fun, but short visit from Kat!) The new beau is absolutely, positively, exactly what I wanted all these years. Last week he asked me to be his girlfriend. Things had been going so well with us, it seemed like a natural progression, but I was still genuinely surprised. I said yes, of course. And things have been amazing since the very first date. I haven’t felt the need to push or manipulate things to fit my own timeline – it flowed and everything, believe me, everything – feels amazing.

He is handsome and kind, funny and smart. He’s the abstract perfect man come to life. My friends like him and he likes my friends. He’s with me intellectually, physically and emotionally. We share things with each other. He introduced me to Parks & Recreation and M83, both of which have kind of changed my life for the better. My cat fell for him before I did. He’s forever saying the sweetest things, and he makes me feel more beautiful and sexy than any man I’ve ever been with. He gives me things I really need – things that I didn’t know I was capable of even receiving from a man. I’m blown away with gratitude on a daily basis. But I never gave up hope that something like this was out there.

Is it perfect? Almost. But perfection doesn’t exist. It’s been a long time since I’ve been “Relationship V” and I’ve had very little practice in being in healthy, loving, mutual relationships. I’ve learned that all relationships are assignments, so I’m making it a point to show up for this one. When something comes up – I ask myself : What can I learn from this?

Saturday, I meet his family. *gulp* Wish me luck, and serenity…

2 comments on “My newest assignment

  1. Yaaayyyyyyy! Glad to hear it’s still going so well. When our cats accept a man from the get-go, I think it’s a damn good sign. 😉 I’m sure things will go just fine with meeting the parents. Good luck!

  2. I always say Guru is a better judge of men than I am!! Haha…
    Glad you’re so happy, lovely. He’s a sweetheart! 🙂

Leave a Reply

